CE Marking

CPR CE Certification

QCServices help guide companies through the CE Marking of structural steelwork process i.e. EN 1090: Execution of steel structures & aluminium structures.

CPR CE Marking

In 2011, a new harmonised European standard for the CPR CE Marking of structural steelwork was introduced, EN 1090: Execution of steel structures and aluminium structures.

On and from the 1st July 2013, the Construction Products Regulation (CPR) required that CPR CE marking for all construction products became mandatory.

From 1st July 2014, EN 1090 will become mandatory meaning that it will be a legal requirement for all fabricated structural steelwork delivered to site from that date to be CPR CE Marked.

In order to be able to CE Mark a fabricated structural steelwork, steelwork contractors are required to declare performance to a level of assessment.

QCS have the capabilities to guide your company through this process. QCS can guide you successfully through the process of:

  • Factory Production Control (FPC) Plan , which will include

-implementation of FPC plan procedures
-appointment of a responsible welding co-ordinator (RWC)
-implementation of a Welding Quality Management System (WQMS) procedures
-further testing of samples taken at the factory in accordance with the prescribed test plan

  • You  will be required to be assessed by a notified body which will carry out:

-Inspection of the production site
-Inspection of the Factory Production Control Plan
-Continuous surveillance audits which will typically be an annual audit

The notified body will then issue a FPC Certificate and a Welding Certificate identifying the execution class that the steelwork contractor has achieved. Once this is complete, QCS will assist you with the completion of a Declaration of Performance (DoP) certificate. In order for a steelwork contractor to demonstrate their right to CE mark their projects and to show compliance to EN 1090, all 3 certificates must be available to view when requested.

Execution Class

For any project from 1st July 2014 onwards, the required quality of fabrication or Execution class must be specified. The engineer is responsible for specifying the execution class for the structure, the components and the details.

The procedure for identifying the Execution Class is a straightforward process:

  1. Determine the Consequence Class
  2. Define the Service Category
  3. Define the Production Category
  4. Derive the Execution Class

For most building projects completed in Ireland, EXC2 is sufficient. Where the Execution Class is not specified on a project, Clause 4.1.2 of EN 1090-2 states that EXC2 shall apply.

Fields marked with a * are required.